The only award of its kind, the Power 50 ranks the UK mobile industry’s most influential individuals of 2021, with the winner announced at the Mobile Industry Awards 2021 on September 29th.

Now in its 14th year, the extraordinary calibre of previous winners ensures the competition’s developments are anticipated with baited breath.

As the market matures, the margin for error narrows and the need for decisive leadership grows, making the Power 50 an unrivalled and indispensable insight into the boardrooms and minds that drive the UK mobile market.

How are the rankings decided?

Our expert editorial team decide the Power 50 list with the help of nominations in May. To make the Power 50 list, an executive needs to be bold in their leadership and vision, and have exceeded expectations in the different categories we have chosen. We look for those who have influence beyond their existing roles, in addition to imbuing their businesses with their values. 

When are the rankings announced? 

10 executives will be announced every week in the four weeks leading up to the Awards with the final winner announced on the day. 

2021 POWER 50

Our 2021 Power 50 so far:

11. Andrea Dona, UK Network & Development Director, Vodafone UK

12. Jeff Dodds, COO, Virgin Media O2

13. Elaine Carey, Chief Commercial Officer, Three UK

14. Ashley Schofield, CEO, GiffGaff

15. Oliver Dowden, Digital Minister, UK Government
16. Gareth Turpin, Chief Commercial Officer, Virgin Media O2

17. Jo Bertram, Managing Director, Business, Virgin Media O2

18. David Hennessy, CTO, Three UK

19. Sharon Meadows, Director of Propositions, EE

20. Anne Sheehan, Business Director, Vodafone UK

21. James Kitto, VP Sales, Samsung UK & Ireland

22. Jon Shaw, Head of Consumer Sales, Vodafone UK

23. Kate Beaumont, Director Device Operations, Product & Innovation, Vodafone UK

24. Tom Denyard, CEO, Tesco Mobile

25. William Paterson, UK & Ireland country director, TCL

26.  Joe Walsh, Director B2B, Samsung UK 

27.  Anson Zhang, Managing Director, Huawei Consumer Business Group 

28. Dame Melanie Dawes, CEO, Ofcom 

29.  Mark Allsop, COO, Dixons Carphone 

30.  Pierre Coppin, Director Marketing Mobile, Sky Mobile 

31. Fergal Donovan, Regional President - Europe, PCS Wireless

32. Anurag Khilnani, Category Leader/GM, Wireless/Home Entertainment, Amazon UK

33. Gerry O’Keeffe, European President, Likewize

34. Payton Dobbs, General Manager, UK Devices & Services, Google

35. James Reed, Managing Director - Endpoint Solutions, Tech Data

36. Maria Fernandez, SMB Director, O2

37. Phil Siveter, CEO, UK & Ireland, Nokia

38. Graham Long, Director, Huawei Consumer Business Group

39. Steve Oliver, CEO, musicMagpie

40. Greg Mesch, CEO, CityFibre

41. David Lawson, Managing Director, AO Retail

42. Christian McBride, Founder, Genuine Solutions Group

43. Jonathan Clamp, Sales Director, Three UK

44. Kevin Cho, General Manager UK, Oppo

45. Terry O'Brien, Wholesale CEO, Digital Wholesale Solutions

46. Martin Flick, CEO, Onecom

47. Miles Norman, General Manager UK & Ireland, Lenovo

48. Dave McGinn, CEO, Daisy Communications

49. Omar Riaz, General Manager, UK, HMD Global

50. Peter Carnall, Managing Director, Eurostar Global Distribution

key dates

17 May

Nominations open

11 June

Nominations close

24 June

Full 50 revealed 

6 September

Countdown begins

29 September

Person of the Year announced


2020: Nick Jeffery, CEO, Vodafone
2019: Marc Allera, Consumer Division, BT
2018: Marc Allera, Consumer Division, BT
2017: David Dyson, CEO, Three UK
2016: Sebastian James, Group CEO, Dixons Carphone
2015: Sebastian James, Group CEO, Dixons Carphone
2014: Andrew Harrison, CEO, Carphone Warehouse
2013: Olaf Swantee, CEO, EE
2012: Simon Stanford, VP of UK & Ireland, Samsung UK
2011: Guy Laurence, CEO, Vodafone UK
2010: Tom Alexander, CEO, Everything Everywhere
2009: Andrew Harrison, CEO, Carphone Warehouse
2008: Kevin Russell, CEO, Three UK