The only award of its kind, the Power 50 ranks the UK mobile industry’s most influential individuals of 2022, with the winner announced at the Mobile Industry Awards ceremony.

Now in its 15th year, the extraordinary calibre of previous winners ensures the competition’s developments are anticipated with baited breath.

As the market matures, the margin for error narrows and the need for decisive leadership grows, making the Power 50 an unrivalled and indispensable insight into the boardrooms and minds that drive the UK mobile market.

How are the rankings decided?

Our expert editorial team decide the Power 50 list with the help of nominations in May. To make the Power 50 list, an executive needs to be bold in their leadership and vision, and have exceeded expectations in the different categories we have chosen. We look for those who have influence beyond their existing roles, in addition to imbuing their businesses with their values. 

When are the rankings announced? 

10 executives will be announced every week in the four weeks leading up to the Awards with the final winner announced on the day. 


2021: Marc Allera, Consumer Division, BT
2020: Nick Jeffery, CEO, Vodafone
2019: Marc Allera, Consumer Division, BT
2018: Marc Allera, Consumer Division, BT
2017: David Dyson, CEO, Three UK
2016: Sebastian James, Group CEO, Dixons Carphone
2015: Sebastian James, Group CEO, Dixons Carphone
2014: Andrew Harrison, CEO, Carphone Warehouse
2013: Olaf Swantee, CEO, EE
2012: Simon Stanford, VP of UK & Ireland, Samsung UK
2011: Guy Laurence, CEO, Vodafone UK
2010: Tom Alexander, CEO, Everything Everywhere
2009: Andrew Harrison, CEO, Carphone Warehouse
2008: Kevin Russell, CEO, Three UK